Rally Monza added to 2020 WRC calendar

Rally Monza has been added to the 2020 WRC calendar. The Italian rally at the Monza F1 Circuit will be the new final round of the championship.

The event features 220 kilometers against the clock, with the majority of running on the first and final day at the circuit. Saturday, day 2 of the event, consists of stages outside of the circuit on closed public roads. 

The rally has been won seven times by seven-time MotoGP champion Valentino Rossi. Sébastien Loeb won the event in in 2011. Dani Sordo won in 2010 and former WRC and F1-driver Robert Kubica won the rally in 2014.

After this weekend's Rally Italia Sardegna, the championship will go to the penultimate round in Ypres, Belgium (19 - 22 November). Monza Rally takes place two weeks after Ypres, 4 - 6 December. 

Yves Matton, FIA Rally Director:
In the current situation, we’re developing new approaches and ACI Rally Monza Italia is a great illustration of this. It’s the marriage of an iconic circuit event and more traditional rally stages in the nearby countryside. This new concept could eventually help bring the WRC to countries or regions where new formats are required."

NL: Monza Rally nieuwe finale van WRC 2020

De Monza Rally is toegevoegd aan de WRC kalender van dit jaar, dat heeft de WRC Promoter vanmiddag bekendgemaakt.

Naast de traditionele proeven op het Monza F1 Circuit zal de rally ook uit proeven bestaan buiten het circuit.
De wedstrijd is geen onbekende voor meerdere (ex) WRC rijders. Zo hebben Dani Sordo, Sébastien Loeb en Robert Kubica de rally al eens gewonnen. MotoGP legende Valentino Rossi wist de rally al zeven keer te winnen.
Na de Rally van Italië dit weekend zullen er dus nog twee WK-rally’s op het programma staan: De Ypres Rally (19 – 22 November) en de Monza Rally (4 – 6 December).Photo: Monza Rally